IWF Essay Contest Winners

May 5, 2008

The Independent Women’s Forum is pleased to announce the winners of the 2007-2008 IWF College Essay Contest.  IWF received hundreds of essays for this year’s contest.  Full-time, female undergraduate students were asked to submit an essay no longer than 750 words, answering the question: What role should “women’s issues” play in the 2008 elections and how do you define women’s issues?  

The awards include: First Place Award – $5,000, Second Place Award – $2,000, Third Place Award – $1,000, and Ten Honorable Mentions – $250

The winners are:

1st Place Cassidy Bugos, Christendom College

2nd Place Lauren Migliore, Kalamazoo College

3rd Place Sara Elizabeth Walter, Lafayette College

Honorable Mentions:

Ashley Amidon, George Mason University

Kyli Archibald, Hobart and William Smith Colleges

Marina Buryak, Stetson University

Catherine Helsley, Randolph College

Jeanette Moll, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Courtney Parry, Saint Mary’s College Notre Dame

Megan Proehl, Ohio State University

Jessica Richman, Stanford University

Morgan Wilkins, Indiana University Southeast

Jiayi Zhou, University of California, Berkeley

Congratulations to all of the winners!