The Independent Women’s Forum is pleased to announce the twenty-five finalists for the 2009-2010 essay contest. These outstanding essays were chosen from over 700 submitted entries from around the world. The contest was open to full-time, female undergraduate students and first prize is $5,000.

The finalists’ essays have been forwarded to our prestigious panel of judges who will award the prizes among this group. Winners will be announced in the coming weeks and the winning essays will be featured on IWF’s website.

Shelle Barnes, Kaplan University

Romina Boccia, George Mason University

Tess Brewer, Florida State University

Ana Butler, Florida State University

Alana Goodman, University of Massachusetts

Elizabeth Griffith, Cedarville University

Joanna Griffith, Patrick Henry College

Yueyue Guo, Dartmouth College

Yangyang Guo, Duke University

Dafina Hulaj, George Mason University

Madeline Kane, New York University

Sophia Kang, University of Southern California

Kelly King, International Academy of Design and Technology

Marina Lauck, Florida Atlantic University

Abby Miller, Northwestern College

Paige Miller, University of Minnesota

Vasiliki Mitrakor, Northwestern University

Michele Patrusevich, MIT

Arthi Rabbane, University of Texas

Marina Resciniti, University of Scranton

Ashley Reynolds, Oklahoma State University

Caroline Strasz, University of Detroit

Anna Swartz, Hillsdale College

Renee Szostak, Indiana University

Lauren Vally, UCLA