WASHINGTON, D.C. – Independent Women's Forum today joined the Competitive Enterprise Institute in sending a letter to Congress urging lawmakers to reject the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's (CFPB) rule against small-dollar loans. 

Additional groups that signed the coalition letter include representatives of: Independent Women's Forum, Independent Women's Voice, Competitive Enterprise Institute, 60 Plus Association, ALEC Action, American Commitment, Americans for Prosperity, Americans for Tax Reform, Campaign for Liberty, Center for Freedom and Prosperity, Center for Individual Freedom, Consumer Action for a Strong Economy, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste, FreedomWorks, Generation Opportunity, Heritage Action for America, Institute for Liberty, Less Government, Log Cabin Republicans, National Black Chamber of Commerce, National Taxpayers Union, Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council, and Taxpayers Protection Alliance.


Dear Member of Congress:

The undersigned organizations write in strong support of a resolution introduced in the House of Representatives, H.J. Res. 122, providing for congressional disapproval of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau’s small-dollar loan rule. Under the Congressional Review Act (CRA), the resolution only requires a simple majority to pass both houses. If signed by the president, it would block the rule from coming into effect and prohibit the CFPB from issuing a similar rule without Congressional authorization.

The final rule covering payday, vehicle title, and certain high-cost installment loans is one of the most detrimental regulations ever issued by the CFPB, an unaccountable and unconstitutional agency established by the Dodd-Frank Act. Put forward under the guise of consumer protection, the rule would strip valued financial services away from some of the most vulnerable people in society. If Washington regulators take away access to legitimate credit options, that will not end consumers’ need for emergency credit. Instead, a ban on small-dollar loans would drive borrowers toward worse options, such as defaulting on financial obligations like rent, or seeking out unregulated lenders and loan sharks.

According to the CFPB’s own analysis, the rule is expected to reduce industry revenue by 75 percent. The industry predicts that could render up to 80 percent of all lenders unprofitable. For the 12 million consumers who rely on these loans, at least $11 billion worth of credit will be eliminated.

Tens of thousands of handwritten notes were submitted to the CFPB urging the rule’s withdrawal. Those comments are consistent with surveys of borrowers showing the overwhelming majority—95 percent—say they value having the option to take out a loan because it is a financial safety net. Even the CFPB’s own consumer complaint database reports less than 2 percent of all complaints are related to payday lending, the vast majority referring to already illegal activities.

The CFPB rule also prevents the citizens and lawmakers in every state from deciding for themselves how to regulate small dollar loans. In fact, every state already regulates small-dollar loans to some extent, including 18 states and the District of Columbia that effectively prohibit such loans. Individual states have, for at least the last century, been able to make their own rules that better reflect the values and interests of their citizens. That’s why state legislators from 17 different states filed comments with the CFPB expressing problems with the rule.

The CFPB’s final rule is made worse by the severe problems in the bureau’s own rulemaking process. The Bureau is required by law to collect input from small entities in order to lessen the impact on small businesses. According to just about all accounts of those involved, the CFPB entirely ignored these commenters. Sens. Marco Rubio (R-FL), John Kennedy (R-LA), and James Risch (R-ID) sent a letter to the CFPB noting that the Small Business Administration found the CFPB to have “grossly violated” their requirements in promulgating the rule.

Lawmaker concern about the small-dollar loan rule transcends partisan politics. In 2015, every Florida representative, including Democrats, wrote a letter to the CFPB urging it to reconsider the rule. In 2016, Democratic Senators Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Claire McCaskill (D-MS) and Joe Manchin (D-WV) also authored letters to the CFPB expressing misgivings.

Time is running out for Congress to help consumers by disapproving of the CFPB rule against small-dollar loans, with the CRA expiring on or around March 5. We the undersigned organizations urge a vote now on House Joint Resolution 122, introduced by Rep. Dennis Ross (R-FL) and co-sponsored by Reps. Alcee Hastings (D-FL), Henry Cuellar (D-TX), Collin Peterson (D-MN), Steve Stivers (R-OH), and Tom Graves (R-GA). Thank you for your consideration on this urgent and important matter.



Iain Murray
Vice President for Strategy, Competitive Enterprise Institute

James L. Martin
Founder/Chairman, 60 Plus Association

Lisa B. Nelson
CEO, ALEC Action

Phil Kerpen
President, American Commitment

Brent Gardner
Chief Government Affairs Officer, Americans for Prosperity

Grover Norquist
President, Americans for Tax Reform

Norm Singleton
President, Campaign for Liberty

Andrew F. Quinlan
President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Timothy Lee
Senior Vice President of Legal and Public Affairs, Center for Individual Freedom

Matthew Kandrach
President, Consumer Action for a Strong Economy

Tom Schatz
President, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Jason Pye
Vice President of Legislative Affairs, FreedomWorks

David Barnes
Policy Director, Generation Opportunity

Michael A. Needham
CEO, Heritage Action for America

Carrie Lukas
President, Independent Women's Forum

Heather R. Higgins
President and CEO, Independent Women's Voice

Andrew Langer
President, Institute for Liberty

Seton Motley
President, Less Government

Gregory T. Angelo
President, Log Cabin Republicans

Harry C. Alford
President/CEO, National Black Chamber of Commerce

Pete Sepp
President, National Taxpayers Union

Karen Kerrigan
President & CEO, Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council

David Williams
President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance