WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, Independent Women’s Forum (IWF) — the leading policy organization for women — announced that Lynn Friess, philanthropist, author, mother and grandmother, will receive the 2023 Diana Davis Spencer Lifetime Achievement Award at its Annual Awards Gala in Washington, D.C. this October. 

The Diana Davis Spencer Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates an individual who, through her talents, hard work, and dedication, has made a lasting contribution to our country and to the cause of freedom.  

Together, Lynn and her late husband, Foster, founded Friess Associates, Inc. and spent many years supporting various innovative projects in the conservative movement. Lynn continues her dedication to the philanthropy she and her husband shared, including Foster’s Outriders and the Lynn and Foster Friess Family Foundation which have provided scholarships, financed work for homeless people, supported water projects in Africa, and much more. 

Last year, Lynn founded a women’s group in her home state of Wyoming called Active Women Engaging (AWE) to help inform women about political happenings and get them involved. A mother and grandmother of 15 grandchildren, Lynn is a “happy warrior” to the core, with no plans for slowing down in her priorities for the cause of freedom. 

Lynn has also served as chairman of the Board of Trustees of the National Museum of Wildlife Art in Jackson, Wyoming, and she was the first woman Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. Lynn has served as a co-chair of the Wyoming Business Council and is a current member of the Board of Trustees for the John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center in Washington, DC. 

“We couldn’t think of a more deserving woman than Lynn Friess to bestow our 2023 Diana Davis Spencer Lifetime Achievement Award to,” Amber Schwartz, executive vice president of Independent Women’s Forum, said. “Ms. Friess has spent more than a half-century using her talents and resources to improve her community and country. She has set an incredible example for women everywhere with her kindness, effectiveness, creativity, leadership, and generosity.  She has also been instrumental in shaping public policy and enabling more people to pursue their own visions of happiness.”

Since its founding in 1992, IWF has emerged as the nation’s top women’s organization dedicated to developing and advancing policies that aren’t just well intended, but actually enhance people’s freedom, opportunities, and well-being. 

This year marks IWF’s 18th Annual Awards Gala. The event will take place on Wednesday, October 25th at The Waldorf Astoria in Washington, D.C. Additional 2023 honorees include Libs of TikTok creator Chaya Raichik, New York Post and Fox News contributor Miranda Devine, and NBA star and human rights activist Enes Kanter Freedom.

A complete list of previous award recipients may be found HERE.

For media interviews and/or media event access, contact [email protected]

For sponsorship inquiries, contact [email protected]

For individual ticket sales, click HERE.

Independent Women’s Forum is dedicated to developing and advancing policies that aren’t just well intended but actually enhance people’s freedom, choices, and opportunities.